top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCrystal Marshall

Facial Equality Week!💖🕊🕊

Updated: May 31, 2019

Let's make a world a better place for all those who look different x



It was my first time celebrating facial equality week this year and the amount of confidence and strength that I gained this week, allow me to really grow as a person. I not only became a lot more accepting of my facial difference but I also became a lot more appreciative of the people who helped me get to where I am today.


For the majority of the week I decided to share all of the influencers, surgeons, friends and authors that helped me manage my difference whilst also posting a unedited selfie of myself each day to raise awareness for people who have facial differences. I'm not going to lie, at the start of the week I was a bit scared and apprehensive doing this, but once I got going that was when I started to enjoy myself and grow in confidence.

Day 1 - Selfie 👧🏾💖


I was super scared before I posted this picture, but when i finally shared it it was like a huge weight was lifted off my shoulders. I felt so liberated and free that I didn't have to hide anymore and it was great!

 


Day 2 - People who inspire me: Katie piper 💕



I have always been inspired by Katie Piper, but it wasn't until after my operation when my face started to change, was when I realised how much of a role model she was to me. I get so elated and happy when I listen to her talk about mental health, living with a visible difference and confidence because it allows me to not feel so alone. I view her as an advocate to the visible difference community and I will always admire how she ensures we all have a voice.



 


Day 3 - People who inspire me - Nikki Lilly 💕




I discovered Nikki Lilly randomly through my Youtube recommendations and looking back at it now I believe that it must have been fate. Nikki Lilly is a young beauty blogger and what drew me to her was her positivity, honesty and her kindness. I loved how she was unafraid to put herself out there and to do what she loved regardless if anyone had mean comments to say about her. Nikki has this bright light that keeps you engaged with whatever she decides to talk about and gave me the confidence to become more public with my visible difference. She's amazing!



 

Day 4 - The surgeons who saved my life 🙏🏾







I can never repay the miracle these two men have given me because it just isn't possible. Mr K and Iain Hutchinson have both been instrumental in giving me a second chance in life, without Iain Hutchison responding to my plea of a second opinion I would have never met Mr K, and without meeting Mr K I wouldn't be alive today. I feel so fortunate to live in a country where something as difficult as my tumour, can be taken out safely and add more years to my life to be lived. I now no longer look at my cheek as a hindrance, but I now look at it as it saving my life. 😁



 

Day 5 - Meeting Jen 😍




For years I've been praying to meet a person who has had osteosarcoma in their upper jaw and luckily I met Jen. Jen discovered me through my patient story that I shared on the bone cancer research trust website and then contacted me through this blog to introduce herself. I was over the moon when she told me we have the same surgeon, surgical team and cancer because I finally felt like I wasn't alone. Jen and I spent hours talking about how we were diagnosed, what surgery we had, what chemo we had and many other things that it felt comforting to discover how many similarities we had. I now always go to her whenever I am looking for advice or guidance because I know she's been through it all and it makes me feel happy to have someone to talk to.



 

Day 6 - Books that inspired me and made me feel 'normal' about my difference.

Faceless by Alyssa Sheinmel, Autobiography of a face by Lucy Grealy, Love is blind by Annabelle Costa, many autobiography books by Katie Piper, all of these books have helped me heal and accept my difference in more ways than anyone else has because it normalises the up and down feelings I feel whilst also, representing women with a difference in a positive light. One book helped me feel more beautiful within myself, the other convinced me I can still find love regardless of what I look like, the next helped me understand how important it is to form a support group to help me discuss my problems and another one helped me grow as a person. I strongly recommend that if you find time to read these books, please do because whether you have a difference or not it will make you view certain things a whole lot different.



 


Day 7 - My Facial Beauty Collage ❤😍💕💖



And so that wraps up Facial Equality Week🎆


It has been such an amazing and eye-opening experience for me I can't put it into words. I have learned more about myself and what I'm capable of that I didn't know and I've raised awareness for something I feel strongly about! This was an amazing week to be apart of and I can't wait for next year 😁❤


And - Last but not least 😉


Please donate £5 by texting FaceEquality to 70085. Your donation will help many others like myself get the support and counselling it desperately needs for people with a visable difference x Let's the world better before we leave it so we can continue living in equality.


Thank You.


Crystal x





124 views0 comments
bottom of page