top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCrystal Marshall

Positive Hour W/ Crystal & Friends: Ariel (writing, poems and facial difference 📚✍🏾♥)

An Instagram live stream series where I bring together a couple of my creative friends and mentors to shed some light on how to handle a virus lockdown in a healthy and positive way.


On this week's Positive Hour with Crystal & Friends, my friend Ariel and I talked about all things creative writing and how documenting our facial difference stories have become a great therapeutic outlet for us to express ourselves. I first met Ariel when she did an article about visible difference in the media for the New York Times, and ever since then, I have been completely inspired by her story. I don't see many people within the visible difference community being completely raw, honest and authentic about how they are seen in society. It was an honour to bring her onto this live because I truly think she will inspire you guys to pick up a pen (or keyboard) and start writing your truth as well.


During this time in isolation, I have found a new creative outlet in writing short poems/music lyrics. I am not the best singer, nor can I string words together in an artistic way but having the chance to unload my emotions, free write with no limitations and create something beautiful and authentic to me, has made me discover how much I LOVE it. Try it today and see what you come up with 😉.









Here are the author's Ariel mentioned in the live that she truly admired 😁💖. I not only recommend researching into these authors but also look up 'Ariel Henley' into google to find more of her amazing writing work (you can also find her on her website)


. Carly Findlay

. Lucy Grealy

.Ann Patchett


And some books I personally read that were an amazing representation of visible differences,


. Faceless by Alyssa Shiemel

. Love is Blind by Annabelle Costa


10 views0 comments
bottom of page