top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCrystal Marshall

Getting To Know Series🌸:


This past year I interviewed five different people with a visible (or hidden) difference whilst I 'get to know' them a bit better. The purpose of this series was for the readers to have a better insight into their lives/how they would like to be treated whilst hopefully, being just as informative and helpful.😁☀



Meet amazingly awesome Ariel Henley🍂


I first discovered Ariel Henley by reading an article she did for the New York Times about the importance of facial equality. I was so completely moved by her raw, honest and true words, that I just had to include her in this series! Her honesty about the life of a person who is visibly different really spoke to me and so I believed it would be very beneficial for you guys to get to know her. <3


Paul Ngo
Taken by Paul Ngo

About


Name: Ariel Henley

Age: 28 years old

What do you do? (Work/school/uni etc) I am a writer, focusing primarily on issues related to disfigurement and craniofacial disorders. 



 

What's one thing you want people to know about you?

I'm an identical twin. We both have Crouzon syndrome. Though growing up my sister and I had each other, I know what it's like to feel isolated in your experiences. This is why I love connecting with other people with facial differences and their families. It's easy to feel alone and like nobody understands what you're going through, but there's a whole community of people ready to support you and welcome you. 



What's your #visibledifference ?

I have Crouzon syndrome, a craniofacial condition where the bones in the head fuse prematurely.


What's one thing you want people to know about your #visibledifference ?


My appearance does not define me, nor does it limit me in any way. I'm just like everyone else. I just look a little different, and there's nothing wrong with that.  (yes!🎉)

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years?


In five years, I will have one book out (a memoir about my experience with Crouzon syndrome, which will be out in early 2021). And who knows! Maybe by then, I'll have another book done!



Ariel and her twin sister - Taken by Paul Ngo

How do you handle being out in public?


Being in public can be exhausting when people say unkind things or stare at me, but I try to focus on having a good time and living my best life. I have every right to take up space like everyone else. If someone has a problem with my appearance, that's on them. I don't believe in feeling bad about myself because someone else has a problem with what I look like. I don't exist to please them.


What do you personally do to build up your confidence on a rough day/normally? 


When I'm having an off day, I look at myself in the mirror and remind myself that I am worthy of my own love and respect. When I'm struggling with my appearance/ body image, I remind myself that no feeling is final. 




Can you share a quote or a message to leave the readers with?


Everyone is beautiful to someone. I find this helpful for people to remember when having a hard day or when you catch yourself judging another person.



 

Wow, isn't she awesome! I honestly enjoy speaking and meeting people throughout this journey that has truly inspired me as Ariel has 💓. It brings me so much joy to know we have people like Ariel and the other amazing people who have been a part of this series, find the confidence to share their wisdom and experience with you all 😁. I hope you have found great inspiration, as I have, in Ariel story wherever you are and I shall see you next time x


If you want to follow Ariel on Instagram it's @arielhenley and the amazing New York Times article I talked about is here


Thank you so much for reading and have a great day!


- Crystal

14 views0 comments
bottom of page